Permitted Manager Liquor Stores2019-10-16T15:13:04+00:00

Permitted Manager Liquor Stores  $60.00    

This course satisfies the TABC Training requirements for obtaining a Manager Permit for Retail Package.

To be eligible for a Manager Permit you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have not been criminally convicted of violating laws against possession, sale, manufacture or transportation of alcoholic beverages within the last 10 years
  • Have not been convicted of any crime involving moral turpitude in the last 10 years

Certificate (valid for one year)

TopShelf Certificate of Completion Completion of this course fulfills the law-training portion of the requirements for a Tennessee Designated Manager Permit.

Length of Course

Fulfills the minimum 1 hour requirement set by the TABC

What You’ll Learn

  • Requirements for employee certification
  • Mark up (pricing) requirements
  • Responsible Wine Vendor (RWV) Requirements

FAQ’s

What is a Permitted Manager for Liquor Stores?2019-10-16T15:32:06+00:00

When it comes to liquor stores, each location must have a Permitted Manager for that particular location. This manager must be trained and have a 5-Year Manager Permit issued by the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission

What is a Manager Permit? (LS)2019-10-16T15:33:55+00:00

A Manager Permit is a 5-year Permit issued by the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage. This permit is valid for 5 years.

What is the cost of the Manager Permit? (LS)2019-10-16T15:42:26+00:00

At this time, the TABC charges a $50.00 non-refundable application fee plus your course fees. Make sure you meet the eligibility requirements before applying. If the TABC contacts you by email to make corrections or upload additional documentation, you will have 30 days to do so or you will lose your application fee and will have to start the application process over.

Is my Manager Permit transferrable? (LS)2019-10-16T15:33:36+00:00

If your company has multiple locations, yes. Your name must be removed from your current store’s RLPS account and added to the store to which you are moving.

What is the required training for a Manager Permit? (LS)2019-10-16T15:32:29+00:00

The Permitted Manager must successfully complete on an ANNUAL BASIS a Responsible Vendor course whether it is wine or beer and a Designated Manager Course.

How do I know I am taking the correct Manager Course? (LS)2019-10-16T15:33:26+00:00

If you are the Permitted Manager for a liquor store location, this is the course you need to take. Designated Manager – Liquor Store

Why do I have to take the courses every year? (LS)2019-10-16T15:31:03+00:00

It is currently required under Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission Rules and Regulations.  The laws are always in flux and the TABC feels this is the best way to keep everyone apprised of changes.

It is currently required under Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission Rules and Regulations. The laws are always in flux and the TABC feels this is the best way to keep everyone apprised of changes.2019-10-16T15:33:16+00:00

You will need to log on to https://www.tn.gov/abc/ then go to Permitting. You will then choose Designated Manager. You will see RLPS in blue, click on it and follow the prompts to complete your application. This is your personal RLPS account.

How much does the training cost? (LS)2019-10-16T15:30:53+00:00

The training will be the combined cost of the Designated Manager course and the Responsible Wine Vendor Course.

How do I apply for a Manager Permit? (LS)2019-10-16T15:33:05+00:00

You will need to log on to https://www.tn.gov/abc/ then go to Permitting. You will then choose Designated Manager. You will see RLPS in blue, click on it and follow the prompts to complete your application. This is your personal RLPS account.

What all do I need apply for my Manager Permit? (LS)2019-10-16T15:32:56+00:00

You will need a personal email,  a PDF or JPEG of your valid photo ID, Responsible Vendor training certificate, and your Designated Manager training certificate. You will upload these when prompted by the RLPS.

Why shouldn’t I use my company email to set up my RLPS Account? (LS)2019-10-16T15:30:13+00:00

Your RLPS account is your account and you always want to have access to your manager permit. If you should leave your current company and go to another, you will not have access to your previous company email.

Your RLPS account is your account and you always want to have access to your manager permit. If you should leave your current company and go to another, you will not have access to your previous company email.2019-10-16T15:30:38+00:00

Once everything has been uploaded and the application is complete, this process should take around 2-4 business days.

How do I know when my permit has been issued? (LS)2019-10-16T15:30:31+00:00

The TABC will send you an email or you can log in to you RLPS account and check on the progress of your application.

Who do I contact if I don’t get my permit? (LS)2019-10-16T15:29:59+00:00

TABC Help Desk:  615-532-2297          or            tabc_rlps.technical@tn.gov

What do I do once my Manager Permit is issued? (LS)2019-10-16T15:29:52+00:00

You will need to have a copy of it in the store, along with a copy of your RV Training Certificate and DM Training Certificate. Make sure you also have copies of all employee records. The TABC will look at all of this when they come to audit or do a license renewal.

Who do I contact if I can’t get logged back into my RLPS account? (LS)2019-10-16T15:29:47+00:00

TABC Help Desk:  615-532-2297          or            tabc_rlps.technical@tn.gov

How do I contact TopShelf? (LS)2019-10-16T15:29:32+00:00

You can call or text us at 865-521-8085 or 865-521-8084. You can also email office@topshelfedu.com. We are available Monday – Friday from 9:30 AM until 3:00 PM. After hours you can call or text 865-300-6246. Someone will get back to you as soon as possible, (normally within 24 hours on weekends).