This course satisfies the TABC Training requirements for obtaining a Manager Permit for Retail Food which allows permit holders to order wine from wholesalers.
To be eligible for a Manager Permit you must:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have not been criminally convicted of violating laws against possession, sale, manufacture or transportation of alcoholic beverages within the last 10 years
- Have not been convicted of any crime involving moral turpitude in the last 10 years
Certificate (valid for one year)
TopShelf Certificate of Completion Completion of this course fulfills the law-training portion of the requirements for a Tennessee Designated Manager Permit.
Length of Course
Fulfills the minimum 1 hour requirement set by the TABC
What You’ll Learn
- Eligibility requirements to sell wine
- Requirements for employee certification
- What alcohol products can be sold in retail food stores
- Mark up (pricing) requirements
- How to work legally with wine wholesalers
- Describe the rules for purchasing, receiving, pricing and selling wine
- Legal hours to sell wine
Each Retail Food store location must have at least one Designated Manager. This trained and permitted Designated Manager is the only person allowed to order wine for that location.
Designated Managers are registered with wine purveyors through the TABC. TopShelf suggests you have at least 2 Designated Managers so you can always be assured you’ll have someone on site to make orders.
A Manager Permit is a 5-year Permit issued by the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage (TABC). Although the permit says valid for 5 years, managers must complete both the Responsible Vendor and Designated Manager courses annually.
At this time, the TABC charges a $50.00 non-refundable application fee plus your course fees. Make sure you meet the eligibility requirements before applying. If the TABC contacts you via email to make corrections or upload additional documentation, you will have 30 days to do so or you will lose your application fee and will have to start the application process over.
Yes, but your name must be removed from your current store’s RLPS account and added to the store to which you are moving. Managers cannot order wine in different location than the one in which they are registered.
A Designated Manager must successfully complete on an ANNUAL BASIS a Responsible Vendor course, whether it is wine or beer, and a Designated Manager Course.
If you are the chosen one to order wine for a grocery or convenience store, this is the course you need to take. Designated Manager – Retail Food
It is currently required under Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission Rules and Regulations. The laws are always in flux and the TABC feels this is the best way to keep everyone apprised of changes.
The training will be the cost of the Designated Manager course and the Responsible Wine Vendor Course combined.
You will need to log on to https://www.tn.gov/abc/
- Go to Permitting
- Choose Designated Manager
- Click on RLPS in blue
- follow the prompts to complete your application
This is your personal RLPS account. You will need to discuss with your corporate office how they want to handle your application fee.
You will need:
- personal email
- PDF or JPEG of your valid photo ID
- Responsible Vendor training certificate
- Designated Manager training certificate
You will upload these when prompted by the RLPS.
Your RLPS account is your account and you always want to have access to your manager permit. If you should leave your current company and go to another, you will not have access to your previous company email.
Once everything has been uploaded and the application is complete, this process should take around 2-4 business days.
Watch your email! The TABC will email you instructions on how to access your Manager Permit from your RLPS account on the TABC’s website. If there are any problems with your application, the TABC will email you with questions or requests for information.
You will need to have a copy of it in the store, along with a copy of your RV Training Certificate and DM Training Certificate. Make sure you also have copies of all employee records. The TABC will look at all of this when they come to audit or do a license renewal.